Continents of the World


The 7 widely recognized continents are listed by size below, from the largest to the smallest.

ASIA includes 50 countries, and is the most populated continent, 60% of the total population of the Earth lives here.
AFRICA comprises 54 countries. It is the warmest continent and the home of the largest desert in the world, the Sahara, which occupies 25% of the total area of ​​Africa.
NORTH AMERICA includes 23 countries led by EE. UU As the largest economy in the world.
SOUTH AMERICA comprises 12 countries. Here is the largest forest, the Amazon rainforest, which covers 30% of the total area of ​​South America.
ANTARCTICA is the coldest continent in the world, completely covered in ice. There are no permanent inhabitants, except scientists who maintain research stations in Antarctica.
EUROPE comprises 51 countries. It is the most economically developed continent with the European Union as the largest economic and political union in the world.
AUSTRALIA includes 14 countries. It is the least populated continent after Antarctica, only 0.3% of the total population of the Earth lives here.

Old World Map

Continents by area from largest to smallest



Total area in sq km

Total area in sq mi

1 Asia 44,579,000 17,212,000
2 Africa 30,370,000 11,730,000
3 North America 24,709,000 9,540,000
4 South America 17,840,000 6,890,000
5 Antarctica 14,000,000 5,400,000
6 Europe 10,180,000 3,930,000
7 Australia 8,600,000 3,300,000

Leave A Reply