Eupen – Belgium


EUPEN, is a town in the Belgian province of Liege, near the German border. It is part of Eupen canton, or district. The town’s principal manufactures are heavy machinery, cables, and woolen goods.
The canton of Eupen was part of the Duchy of Limburg until annexed by France in 1794. In 1815 it passed, with the cantons of Malmedy and St.-Vith, to Prussia. In 1920, as a result of a plebiscite ordered by the Treaty of Versailles, the three cantons were transferred to Belgium. Annexed to Germany again in 1940-1944, Eupen and the others were restored to Belgium at the end of the war.

Leave A Reply