Prix Goncourt


Prix Goncourt, a prize awarded annually by the Academie Goncourt in France to the author of “the best French prose work published during the year.” The money given as the prize, which is awarded at a luncheon, amounts to very little (only a few dollars), but the prize-winning book is virtually assured of becoming a best seller. Most avvards have gone to novels, and these have been extremely diversified in form and content.

The first Prix Goncourt was awarded in 1903 to John-Antoine Nau for Force ennemie. Arnong the more celebrated recipients of subsequent prizes have been Marcel Proust for A l’ombre des jeunes filles en fleur in 1919; Andre Malraux for La condition humaine in 1933; Maurice Druon for Les grandes familles in 1948; Simone de Beauvoir for Les mandarins in 1954; and Romain Gary for Les racines du del in 1956.

Leave A Reply