Time zones in Canada


There are 6 standard time zones in Canada and 4 of them are the same as in the USA. Legally, all matters related to the local time are officially regulated by the provincial legislation and the decisions of the municipalities, that is why in practice many exceptions apply in some provinces.

UTC-03: 30 The time zone of Newfoundland includes the whole island of Newfoundland and the southeastern part of the Labrador region.

UTC-04: 00 Atlantic Time Zone comprises most of Labrador and 3 other provinces: New Brunswick (NB), Nova Scotia (NS), Prince Edward Island (PE).

UTC-05: 00 Eastern Time Zone covers the eastern part of Nunavut (NU), most of the provinces of Ontario (ON) and Quebec (QC).

UTC-06: 00 The central time zone includes all of Manitoba (MB), Saskatchewan (SK) with a small exception and a fairly large portion of Nunavut (NU).

UTC-07: 00 Mountain Time Zone comprises completely Alberta (AB), Northwest Territories (NT), the western part of Nunavut (NU), the minor exception in Saskatchewan (SK), the eastern and southern districts of British Columbia (BC) ).

UTC-08: 00 Pacific Time Zone covers most of British Columbia (BC) and all of Yukon (YT).

Almost all provinces in Canada apply daylight saving time (DST) in the warm period of the year, excluding most of the territory of Saskatchewan (SK) and some exceptions in British Columbia (BC), Ontario (ON), Quebec (QC) and Nunavut (NU). The daylight saving time in Canada is synchronized with the US.

Province / territory or part thereof

Capital and the largest city

UTC time offset


Alberta (AB) Edmonton, Calgary -07:00 -06:00
British Columbia (BC), most of Victoria, Vancouver -08:00 -07:00
British Columbia (BC), part of Peace River District Dawson Creek -07:00 none
British Columbia (BC), part of Central Kootenay District Creston -07:00 none
British Columbia (BC), East Kootenay District and Columbia Valley Cranbrook -07:00 -06:00
Manitoba (MB) Winnipeg, Brandon -06:00 -05:00
New Brunswick (NB) Fredericton, Saint John -04:00 -03:00
Newfoundland and Labrador (NL), Newfoundland and southeastern coast of Labrador St. John’s 0 0
Newfoundland and Labrador (NL), Labrador, except of southeastern coast Labrador City -04:00 -03:00
Northwest Territories (NT) Yellowknife -07:00 -06:00
Nova Scotia (NS) Halifax -04:00 -03:00
Nunavut (NU), Southampton Island Coral Harbour -05:00 none
Nunavut (NU), east of 85°W Iqaluit -05:00 -04:00
Nunavut (NU), between 85°W and 102°W Baker Lake -06:00 -05:00
Nunavut (NU), west of 102°W Cambridge Bay -07:00 -06:00
Ontario (ON), most of Toronto, -05:00 -04:00
Ottawa (capital of Canada)
Ontario (ON), Quetico Provincial Park Atikokan -05:00 none
Ontario (ON), western part of Northwestern Ontario Kenora -06:00 -05:00
Prince Edward Island (PE) Charlottetown -04:00 -03:00
Quebec (QC), most of Quebec City, Montreal -05:00 -04:00
Quebec (QC), small part along the coast of the Gulf of Saint Lawrence Blanc-Sablon -04:00 none
Saskatchewan (SK), most of Regina, Saskatoon -06:00 none
Saskatchewan (SK), small part Lloydminster -07:00 -06:00
Yukon (YT) Whitehorse -08:00 -07:00

Leave A Reply